Meta Drčar, Panayiotis Doukanaris and Niamh Schmidtke, winners of the Artists Development Programme 2020, have started their residency in Luxembourg, where they will spend five weeks working on an art project under the mentorship of Jorma Puranen.

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the residency had to be postponed by one month and the fourth winner, Niamh Fahy, could not travel to Luxembourg and will join the 2021 cohort of the ADP. Also due to COVID-19, the mentoring session planned in Helsinki with Jorma Puranen took place online. The Finnish photographer will continue mentoring the ADP 2020 laureates throughout their stay in Luxembourg.

Niamh Schmidtke (23, Ireland) won the thematic focus residency on “Disruption: The Imprint of Man”, Niamh Fahy (29, Ireland) won the call on “(De)construction of History”, Meta Drčar (34, Slovenia) and Panayiotis Doukanaris (29, Cyprus) won the geographical focus call.

The Artists Development Programme (ADP) is a residency and mentorship programme in Luxembourg organised by the EIB Institute. It offers emerging European visual artists under the age of 35 the opportunity to develop their practice in a high quality professional context without any material constraints. It involves the creation of an art project under the mentorship of an internationally renowned artist. The mentors provide an exceptional tutoring and networking opportunity for young artists, while the exhibition of works from the project at the EIB premises adds the credibility of an established setting.

Photo: Niamh Schmidtke, Meta Drčar,and Panayiotis Doukanaris (from left to right)