Sixty students from 12 European universities are joining the EIB Summer School 2021 dedicated to “The EU’s climate bank” and starting on Monday 28 June for three weeks in a fully online format.

This year, the EIB Summer School welcomes students from six new universities: Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, University of Luxembourg, ESADE (Spain), University of Sofia, University of Vienna and Babeș-Bolyai University (Romania), together with students from College of Europe Bruges and College of Europe Natolin, Sciences Po, Bocconi, University of Ljubljana and TU Dresden. Fourteen EIB interns will also participate in the EIB Summer School.

For the first time, students will benefit from lectures by Prof. Jos Delbeke, who holds the EIB Climate Chair at the European University Institute, and Prof. Shivsharan Someshwar who holds the Sciences Po Chair for sustainable development and climate transition sponsored by the EIB.

Because of the ongoing COVID 19 pandemic, the Summer School 2021 is held in a three weeks online version and focuses on environmental and sustainability topics. Every working day, Summer School participants will join a two-hour session delivered by an EIB Group senior staff member.

The EIB Summer School is a programme for graduate students who want to learn about the core activities and responsibilities of the EIB Group (European Investment Bank, European Investment Fund, EIB Institute).

Organised every year in June/July in Luxembourg, it offers students first-hand insights about the EU Bank and one of the world’s main financiers of climate action, through lectures taught by EIB and EIF staff members (19 of them in 2021).

The programme aims to foster long-term relationships and create a network of those interested about the future of Europe and beyond.

Participants will receive an EIB Summer School certificate.