Cooking Section, ADP 2016 laureates, installing the artwork produced during their residency in Luxembourg.

The Artists Development Programme is an innovative creative platform offering emerging artists (under the age of 35) a four-week residency programme in Luxembourg under the guidance of an established mentor in their discipline (visual arts) and guiding them to appropriate public art fora.

The Institute offers them the opportunity to develop their artistic practice without any material contingency during the period of the project. It also enables them to produce high quality work that comfortably fits alongside the work of more experienced artists in the collection. For the artist, such parallels are an important motivation and challenge, which has borne fruit in this case.

The programme has two angles, geographic and thematic. Each year the geographic programme shifts its focus within the EU, but consistently emphasises artists from countries under-represented in the EIB art collection. The thematic focus addresses current strategic priorities of the EIB – sustainable development and climate action.

Leading British artist Callum Innes is the mentor of the 2017 and 2018 edition.

FRAUD/Francisco Gallardo, 35, Spain/UK; Grzegorz Stefanski, 34, Poland; Bill Balaskas , 35, Greece and Antonis Theodoridis, 33,Greece were the winners of the 2018 edition. Their works were unveiled at the end of their residency.

Nicola Rossini, 25, from Italy, Zuza Golińska, 27, from Poland, Annabel Duggleby, 25, from the United Kingdom, and Katja Larsson, 30, from Sweden were the winners of the 2017 edition.Their works were unveiled at the end of their residency.

Leading British artist Darren Almond was the mentor of the previous two editions. The 2016 edition saw Chiara Bugatti, 25, from Italy, the duo of spatial practitioners Cooking Sections -Daniel Fernàndez Pascual, from Spain, and Alon Schwabe, from Germany, both 31-, Astrid Myntekær, 31, from Denmark and Johan Österholm, 33, from Sweden- being selected. The artists’ works were unveiled at the end of their residency.

Markus Hoffmann, Aaron Bezzina, and Fatma Çiftçi, were the three artists selected in 2015.

The renowned Polish conceptual artist Miroslav Balka was the mentor of the first two editions.

Artists Development Programme 2014


Artists Development Programme 2013