2015 EIB Prize

2015 EIB Prize: Economics of Inequality and Economic Growth

Applications for the 2015 EIB Prize are now closed. Follow us on Facebook and check out the website for the nomination for the 2016 EIB Prize.

The topic for the 2015 EIB Prize is “Economics of Inequality and Economic Growth”. The Prize will be awarded for applied research conducted on the interaction of economic performance/growth and inequality. Research may focus on the effect of income and wealth inequality on GDP as well as broader concepts of well-being. Special consideration will be given to work comparing the European experience (including between EU member countries) with that of other large advanced economies.

Eligibility criteria for candidates

Nominees for the EIB Prize must be researchers that have made substantial empirical contributions based on solid theoretical foundations in areas covered by the year’s topic. Both awards are open to all economists, with no distinction regarding nationality or place of work.

The Outstanding Contribution Award honours scholars for their lifetime scientific contribution of specific relevance to the prize’s topic, including academic excellence and publication record and impact on public policy or society at large.

The Young Economist Award honours scholars under the age of forty on 31 December 2015. It recognises influential research or a significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge that is of specific relevance to the prize’s topic and demonstrates great promise for the future.


Nominations are now closed.

Self nominations are not accepted. Please click here to nominate a candidate for the Outstanding Contribution Award and click here to nominate a candidate for the Young Economist Award. Only electronic submissions will be accepted. The submission must include your contact details, a brief motivation statement and a copy, or link to, the candidate’s CV. You may propose no more than one candidate for each award.


The winners will be selected by a jury composed of distinguished scholars and chaired by Nobel Laureate Professor Sir Christopher Pissarides.


If you have any question, please email institute@eib.org.